Breaking the silence | life updates

Things have been busy for us these past few weeks, hence my quietness on this front. Reuben has finished his stint of third manning as part of his initial induction phase and is now acting as lead clinician when on road. He has stepped into his role with diligence and comes home each day with more confidence in his ability and a joy from a days (or nights) work done. I am very proud. As for myself, I have this last week started in my new role as a Trainee Dental Nurse at a local practice. It is a fair stones throw from what I am used to, and my brain is bulging with the abundance of new information. It’s a good feeling. I will work part time whilst also studying for my qualification in Dental Nursing, which should be completed in 2 years time, perhaps earlier if I double time it. We are together each finding our groove, and each day brings a new assurance and fulfilment in the path in which we are going.

Our prayers for cooler weather have been answered a lot sooner than we expected, and the days and nights here have quite suddenly become very cold. The crisp cold of early mornings picking Reuben up from night shift have been softened by trips past “Maccy D’s”. It is astonishing what a fresh hash brown can do for one’s soul in such a climate and hour of the morning. We are quickly reevaluating our wardrobes and the overhanging need to invest in some thicker layers to combat the cold and the tripling of electricity costs that are then only amplified through heating. Walking out the door and then back in again for another jumper is a very welcome change from the summer heat we were experiencing not so long ago. It is however increasingly becoming an effort to get the washing dry. We sit watching our tv show tonight surrounded by linen draped over the chairs and clothing hanging from the doors in a desperate effort to dry them. It makes me miss “Chung’s Chinese Laundry”, a neat hoisting clothes rail my dad created to meet the overwhelming demands of a ten person household full of washing in the Tasmanian climate. Might have to fly him in specially for the job to fix up something similar for me here.

I am the first Australian to grace my new workplace. I have spent many a lunch break answering questions about our snakes and spiders, and sharing photos of Huntsman spiders that have elicited horrified squeals from otherwise stoic dentists. The knowledge that no, I have never had a snake in my house brought some comfort, but not enough to convince them to book a trip anytime soon. The story of my mother opening the car door to a snake a mere foot away, poised fangs out ready to strike her may have to saved for next week. City slickers, I tell you. ;D I’ll withhold that story a little longer for their sake maybe, or my own in hiding my country bumpkin-ness a little longer. I certainly won’t be telling them then that I find the littler insects, wasps and such, to be the more frightening evil out of these choice of animals. The “cute fluffy bear” (Tasmanian Devil) is apparently all Australia has going for it in the wildlife department at the moment. Unfortunately the chance of any of them seeing one of those on a trip to Tasmania or mainland Australia is even slimmer than being greeted by a snake in the living room. I’ll keep pushing it though.

3 responses to “Breaking the silence | life updates”

  1. Fly me in. LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We’ve all been awaiting this post with much anticipation!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You have the perfect, beautiful smile for a dental nurse! It will encourage much good dental hygiene. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started